## **RTÉ**RSA

## **Raidío Teilifís Éireann Retired Staff Association (Defined Benefit)**

Chair: Stephanie Fitzpatrick, Vice-Chair: Tony O'Connor, Treasurer: Carole Corrigan, Secretary: Siobhán Carew

## **Articles of Association**

- 1. The name of the Association shall be "The Radio Teilifís Éireann Retired Staff Association (Defined Benefit)" (RTERSA (DB)).
- The Association shall be composed of:

   a) All members of the RTÉ
   Superannuation Scheme who are in receipt of a pension from the
   Superannuation Fund.
   b) The surviving beneficiaries of such members.
   c) The surviving beneficiaries of
   members of the RTÉ Superannuation
   Fund who died in the service of RTÉ.
- 3. Membership of the Association shall be automatic and shall continue unless and until a member notifies the Secretary of his/her intention in writing not to remain a member.
- 4. The object of the Association shall be the advancement of the welfare, social and financial interests of its members.
- 5. The Association shall be governed by an Executive Committee consisting of a Chairperson, Vice-chairperson, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer (herein called "The Officers") and five (5) Ordinary Members. The Committee shall be elected at the Annual General Meeting of the Association by those present at such meeting. On the completion of the election of the Executive Committee two of its members shall be designated Trustees for the purpose of these articles by a majority vote of all those present and voting at the Annual General Meeting.

- 6. The Executive Committee may, at its discretion, co-opt to the Committee up to three (3) members in addition to those elected at the Annual General Meeting. The Executive Committee may also co-opt members to fil vacancies arising in the Executive Committee during the year.
- 7. Should the office of Chairperson become vacant, the Vice-chairperson shall automatically become Chairperson for the unexpired portion of the term of office. Any other vacancy for an officer arising during the year shall be determined by the Executive Committee.
- 8. The Executive Committee shall be empowered to pay all expenses properly incurred in conducting the affairs of the Association and within the Association's financial resources, to fix and pay honoraria as appropriate.
- 9. a. A quorum shall be deemed to be in session at Annual General Meetings of the Association if fifty (50 members, including members of the Executive Committee), are present. No business shall be transacted in the absence of a quorum.

b. A quorum shall be deemed to be in session at Executive Committee Meetings if 5% of the committee members, including officers of the Executive Committee, are present. No business shall be transacted in the absence of a quorum.

continued overleaf

## Articles of Association (continued)

- 10. All questions arising at meetings of the Association and or the Executive Committee shall be decided by majority votes of those present. In the event of an equality of votes on any motion or resolution the result shall be determined by the casting vote of the Chairperson.
- 11. The Annual General Meeting of the Association shall ordinarily take place each year during the month of May on a date to be decided by the Executive Committee. Notification of the date, time and place of the Annual General Meeting and of any Extraordinary General Meeting shall be posted by ordinary mail or other electronic mail to the members not less than ten (10) days in advance of such meetings.
- 12. At each Annual General Meeting the officers and other members of the Executive Committee, including any co-opted members, shall retire but may be proposed for re-election.
- 13. The Treasurer shall keep such accounts of the financial affairs of the Association are as sufficient to give rise to true and fair view of the state of the Association's finances.
- 14. The Annual accounts of the Association, which have been prepared and signed by the Treasurer shall be verified and signed accordingly by the Trustees before they are presented to the members at the Annual General Meeting.

- 15. The financial year of the Association shall commence on the 1st January each year and end on the 31st December of that same year.
- 16. An annual contribution of twelve euro (€12), or such amount as may be determined at the Annual General Meeting, shall be payable by all members. This contribution shall be deducted from the pension payment for the month of July each year by arrangement with the Manager of the RTÉ Superannuation Fund who shall pay the monies thus deducted into the bank account of the Association
- 17. All the monies received by the Association by way of members contributions or otherwise shall be lodged in the joint names of the Trustees in a bank account approved by the Association. All monies for expenses or other outgoings, as approved by the Executive Committee from time to time, shall be drawn as required from said account by the Trustees.
- 18. These "Articles of Association" were adopted at an Extraordinary General Meeting of the Association held on the 14th day of October 1991 and amended by the insertion of new articles Nos. 13, 14 and 15 at an Extraordinary General Meeting of the Association held on the 25th day of May 1994. The Articles were further revised and amended and ratified at the Annual General Meeting held at the Talbot Hotel, Stillorgan, on the 26th April 2018.

RTÉ Retired Staff Association (Defined Benefit) PO BOX 12250 FREEPOST DUBLIN 16 E-mail: <u>rtepensionassoc@gmail.com</u> Text only 087 438 7496